My wife Jessica and I went on our first vacation together, to sunny Northern California. We visited Santa Cruz to go surfing at one of the more famous places in the surfing community; we spent a day at San Fransico hiting as many of the fun places we’ve heard of; we went up to the high Sierra Nevada mountains and saw Nevada City; and spent a lot of time at Valley Springs church in Sacramento (actually its in Roseville a burb of the city). It was wonderful trip, and refreshed us so much.

While in Sacramento I preached at the Underground Cafe Emerging Church that meets in Vally Springs Presbyterian Church (its a ministry within it). I spoke from Acts 6-8:3 on the life and death of Stephen. The title of the message was Getting Stoned For Jesus. I wrote the exegetical side of the message before I got out there doing my homework on the original text, history, and interpretation issues, and waited upon the Lord for the rest of the sermon as Jess and I spent time throughout the week at a few concerts meeting people from the Underground Cafe and beginning friendships with them. God’s word is always so relevant to our lives and needs, but its takes compassion and brokenness for people to preach in a way that touches them. I was reminded by the Spirit that his word requires faithful exegesis of both holy text and our present real world. Praises be to our Lord who always goes before, in love and truth!