It is too often forgotten that the classical Jewish doctrine of resurrection does not represent a belief that death can be avoided, averted, or minimized. All to the contrary, it takes the gravity and tragedy of death with full seriousness and represents a belief that death will be  – miraculously, supernaturally, graciously – overcome. Resurrection finds its place within a larger vision not of the continuation of the world but of its redemption.”(Jon D. Levenson, Resurrection and the Restoration of Israel)

This quote is apart of a larger thesis Levenson seeks to demonstrate within this text that Resurrection rather than being a mutation or pagan development added to Judaism and read back into the Old Testament Narrative is instead a truth integral to its flow. I really appreciated the way Levenson spoke of resurrection in relation to death; it does not avoid it, avert it, or minimize it rather it overcomes it. I struggle the most with my faith when I consider that my God does not remove me from suffering or even death but rather promises me that the resurrection experienced by His Son will as well be experienced by me and though I may not be able to avoid suffering and death I can know that I will overcome it through being resurrected with his Son. Indeed I already have the resurrection life of his Son indwelling within me. A mystery, and a wonder to muse upon…