1 Corinthians 2:4-5 “My speech and my proclaimation were not with enticing, clever words, but by transparent proof brought home powerfully by the Holy Spirit, that your faith should not rest on human cleverness, but on God’s power.” (Anthony Thiselton’s translation in his comentary on 1 Corinthians)

It seems that my life has been put off into an impossible direction, I am training to be pastor/teacher, a preacher of the Gospel of Christ. Why does this seem to be such an impossible feat? Because I’m constantly engaged by the reality that preaching involves more than just a reading of scripture, but rather an exposition of its contents, a delievery thoughtfully chosen in light of both my audience and the realities of the gospel call of salvation, and a prayer filled conversation between myself and God as I speak to his people; and all this is to be done – with integrity and honesty. Impossible…

It doesn’t help that the average seminary student finds little opportunity to preach to congregations, nor does it help that the ciriculum seems more suited to training us to speak to academic theologians rather than your typical church members. At times like these as I consider the call ahead I can only rest in the simple fact that God has chosen a very simple means to proclaim his message of salvation, and He has chosen an even simplier man to do such a labor.

I take confidence in Pauls words above, and in Thiselton’s comments here, “For if the birth of Christian faith depended on such manipulative methods, the genuineness of such a response might be open to question.” (pg. 51) Oh God thank you that you have not left your mighty work of salvation open to the question of human manipulation, but have assured us that it is the power of the cross redeeming unto yourself a new people, an ecclesia, that builds and demonstrates your Kingdom here…