You can read Scott Clark’s whole post here, his treatment of this question is interesting he spends a lot of time trying to orient newby’s to the Reformed community. He does this by pointing out that Evangelicaly broad churches have their own culture as do Reformed churches, pointing out that Englishmen might be very surprised and need to adjust to the flavor of French food (a joke or jab at Carl Trueman? not sure). The way he closes his blog I thought was exceptional and very timely for the church today, and I hope we who self-label ourselves Reformed will remember that much more than theological acumen go along with Reformed piety, that ‘much more’ is humility and graciousness!

I’ve seen and known Reformed jerks — indeed I am the chief of jerks! [And if you catch me being a jerk here or elsewhere please tell me and give me an opportunity to repent] I’ve also met the sweetest, gentlest, most gracious people in Reformed congregations, sometimes tucked away in obscure little congregations. They don’t get much media exposure and they might not be the first folks that a refugee from the local mega-church meets.

I don’t think we confessional Reformed folk should back down one inch from the things we confess, but I do think we should seek to live out all that we confess, including the virtue of humility. When folk talk about “dead orthodoxy” they’re really describing partial orthodoxy. They’re not really describing real, full-orbed, confessional Reformed theology, piety, and practice. At least sometimes they’re describing the jerks in our movement and churches.To my broad evangelical friends, please be patient with us. To my Reformed friends, whether new converts or children of the covenant, the evangelical world is watching. Let’s hope and pray that they see winsome trophies of grace and not something else.