al_doo_rag.gif

First as his student, then as his collegue and friend, Pete Enns remembers Al’s loving and kind spirit;

“The past few days have been rough for a lot of people…

I first met Al in 1983 on a brief visit to WTS when he was dean of students. I remember he was kind. I became a student in 1985 and have known him since then as a student (Al tought me Hebrew, so all of you can blame him), colleague, and friend–a wonderful trifecta that helps you see people from different angles. My initial impression has proven true throughout the past 22 years, although I have learned to put it a bit differently. Al was more than “kind.” He actually had an unusual capacity to make people feel loved, welcomed, safe, valued. You always felt better after being with him than before. Westminster has lost a giant of a man, and many of us have lost a dear friend. “

Pete left these words at Mark Traphagen’s blog comment section, a blog remembering Al’s personage and presence…(HT: Mark and Pete)