“To be a Christian means, in a sense, to be displaced. A Christian does not live within herself; she lives outside herself – in God and in her neighbor. Reflect for a moment about the first and more fundamental displacement, on living by faith “in God” or being “caught beyond” and placed “into God.” It is significant for Luther in two ways. First, it releases people from the pressure of having to gain favor with God by what they do. This idea lies at the heart of Luther’s account of salvation. His point is not that what people do does not matter; it matters profoundly – to God, to their neighbors, to themselves. Yet nothing they do changes the fact that God loves them and, if they trust in God, will remake them into new creatures, freed from guilt and capable of loving others.” (Miroslav Volf, The End of Memory: Remembering rightly in a violent world)

At the heart of the Gospel lies this truth, our salvation lies not in our identity with sin but rather our identity in Christ! I won’t put the rest of Volf’s quote up because I’m hoping you’ll support him by purchasing his book, but the way Volf speaks about our need to lose our memory in order to forgive and how we can be bold to do this because of where our identity lies is a wonderful message. Christians of all people should be bold with their identities, we have been caught beyond with God and there is no fear that should grip us here, losing face or losing the glory of man should be a commonness that is impotent to chain us.

God “wil remake us into new creatures”, sigh, every time I consider that fact I realize how much of my life is muddled with misdirection and lack of ambition because I’m a person living as though I’m between two creations, and not as though God has already made me new in His Son. My old creation which beckons me to stay and fade, and my new creation which reminds me that Christ has gone to the Father and sent his Spirit in order to make all things new. As new as the resurrection life he so wondrously displayed to the early church, and even newer.