0802829899.jpg

I enjoyed so much reading through Miller’s piece that I’ve decided – as best I can – to add a ‘Reflecting through’ series to the ebb and flow of my blog. It helps me as a very busy pastor to have a sense of holy retreat and refreshing by reflecting on the gifts and literary labors of others. So if you’re a reader here this will be a normal part of this blog’s landscape.

I’ve chosen Miroslav Volf’s book, The End of Memory: Remembering Rightly in a Violent World, to be my next read through. Partly because our senior pastor here is taking us as a community through a series on the Fall, Sin, and Satan; but largely because Volf is one of the writers who it pays to read everything they pin. His brilliant, beautiful, and bold imagination takes you and I as readers to places that we never expected the reconciliation of the gospel to reach.

I hope you’ll join with me in this series. You can purchase the book at WTSBooks for a very reasonable price. 14$ and change…

Here’s a brief quote to get us started from the first chapter where Volf was recalling what it was like to be wrongly accused of treason as a Yugoslavian soldier.

“To be accussed was to be condemned, to be condemned was to be ruined…” pg. 5

What happens when our memories of someone’s sin turns from questioning their actions to accusing them? Does is not become a similar pattern, to accuse them of sin is to condemn them, and to condemn them is to ruin them. Once ruined we find that we alone have the privileged place at the table of human relationships; it is they and not us who must be restored – or is it…(this is not the direction of Volf’s chapter, we’ll see that once we begin)