When you get married you tend to inheret each other’s family traditions. Some you fight against and hate, other’s you just stand back and enjoy the ride. Telluride is one of those moments for me. My wife’s extended family has been meeting for a full week of skiing and eating in Telluride, Colorado since she was a young child. And the tradition is still going on today.

(The image above is Jess’ grandpaws favorite run, Galloping Goose). This vacation will mark my second trip out to Telluride and I don’t mind telling you I could live out there and be very, very happy. Its beautiful, for a kid like myself who grew up for a number of years living in a Scientology commune with nothing to his name, and even less to his soul such a place like Telluride was never on my LifeTime screen. Nor could be on a pastors salary, though our church is very generious to us. This trip is all expenses included, arranged by Jess’s grandparents and now paid for by her parents as a gift to their kids and future grandkids. Its an amazing gift!

My goals – I’m overly, and underly goal oriented (contradictory, yes) – are just to enjoy family and food and rides. In a word, rest. Last time this year I did a similar post and mentioned some of the books I’d be reading during my downtime there. I couldn’t help but notice the practical shift in focus and ministry needs with what I’m bringing with me this year.

Cover Image Cover Image Cover Image

Cover Image Cover Image Cover Image