I first saw artists using placemates as a way to share their art and get exposure at Thumb’s Up Dinner in Atlanta, a trendy breakfast joint (they do more than breakfast). This pastweekend my wife and I visited West Egg Cafe and apparently they had similar placements in the the past. I think its a great way to learn about emerging artist in the community. And for even some of the placemate admirers out there to actually purchase their art and support them by following up with the flipside info that you can’t see on the back. It makes me think about ways believers could conisder doing art for the glory of God in the public square…I know some Christian artists use Moo cards from Flickr to get their pieces out… 

(Pic above is the West Egg Cafe, its housed in a warehouse, very cool atmospher) If you’re in the West Side of Atlant and you’re looking for a very hip, tasty spot for good comfort breakfast food West Egg Cafe is my first choice. And if you’re on the East Side its got to be Thumbs Up Dinner, their omletes are to die for; if you’re north of Atlanta check out The Cresent Moon Eatery in Decatur. While at the West Egg I saw an artists piece hanging on the wall that I fell in love with, to bad I only had money for the breakfast. The artist’s name is Eric Edward Key, click his name and check out a few of his pieces…enjoy.