Golden Fire

You can see the whole interview here, above and below are two of Mako’s pieces. Mako has a blog here. My wife and I purchased one of his originals last summer, it was called “Shalom.” I talked about the unique story it has already taken on in our family here. Here is one question from the interview to get you intrigued;

What are your hopes and dreams for your art? As you look to the future and allow yourself to dream a little bit, what would you like to see happen with your art?

I do want to be the best artist that I can be, to represent God’s grace in the world in my life as well as in the world. My effort to advocate for artists have grown into the International Arts Movement, a not-for profit arts organization that has a headquarter in New York City and chapters in Japan and elsewhere. We believe that God desires to re-humanize the world via the arts and creative expression, and we want to create a home for folks wrestling with deep issues of art, faith and humanity. Re-humanizing the world is a big, ambitious goal, and yet a goal that God calls all of us to participate in.

Still Point

(HT: Justin Taylor)