I think a lot of us are aware of the continual multifacited conflicts our lives seem submerged within. As if we were living in a drama that instead of finding resolve continues to move from climactic tension to climactic tension. For a lot us the conflicts finally win and overwhelm our faith and strength. For others we learn to ‘soldier on’ through the midst of the conflicts growing harder and harder to the world outside. But neither of these are turns our faith supports or promotes.

Perhaps the most damaging thing to our faith in Christ is the we practice it with other believers, or perhaps its better to say the way we DON’T practice with other believers. I had a lot of humbling self-reflections and repenting to do as I lived with this passage for a month and saw myself and my relationships through it.

The passage for the four part series was out of Philippians 1:27-2:18. Keep in mind I’m still a very young, green preacher with a lot of work ahead of me but that did not stop me from being ministered to even in the presence of my weakness. I found in the midst of this series a deep reservoir of light and truth in this passage that I had not beheld before.

Here are the links to them;

PART ONE:The Gospel Frees You to Live as a Citizen of God’s Kingdom in the Midst of Conflicting kingdoms.” Philippians 1:27-30 Sermon bulletin.

PART TWO: Learning to Love and Do Life with other Citizen’s of God’s Kingdom.” Philippians 2:1-4 Sermon bulletin.

PART THREE:Beholding and Imitating the Self-Emptying King.” Philippians 2:5-11 Sermon bulletin.

PART FOUR:Engaging the kingdoms of this World as God’s New People.” Philippians 2:12-18 Sermon bulletin.

UPDATE: Praise from New Testament Scholar David Alan Black

I found this over at Dr. Black’s blog;

Saturday, July 5

8:35 PM I have often said that the heart of the book of Philippians is 1:27-2:18. And I’ve read and heard many good sermons from the paragraphs in this great section. But the kingdom emphasis found in this sermon series is truly refreshing to see. Well done, Tony!

Thank you for your very generous praise Dr. Black!