North Point Ministries has their own youtube page. If you haven’t had the chance to check out I encourage you to. Above is one of the video intro’s they used to a series led by Andy Stanley called “Belief in God“.

The intro’s are really well done and I think they capture the tone of unbelief, the existential angst that so many ‘doubter’s’ are filled with. Unbelief isn’t merely intellectual, its personal and narratival. For sure we must never forget that unbelief is something we all inherited from the Fall but that doesn’t change the fragmented mosaic formed in our own experience of it. Faith if its to confront unbelief in a real, significant way, must be empathetic to ‘unbelievers’ and the angst their doubting is dependent upon. Too much of apologetical and evangelist approaches forget that there’s a living, breathing, processing person on the other end of the conversation. That theological paradigms while helpful are not exaustive and if they’re made to fit on to real people they slip on like runway designs on soccer moms.

So as I watched these films I found myself saying, “Tony, are you ready to speak with real people with real tragedies and pain. Can you just listen before speaking.” I often remember that faith rest’s on God but at least as often I forget that faith abides in persons…

What do you think about the videos? Thoughts, concerns, criticisms…