image

Jesus in his ministry proclaimed the coming Kingdom of God and practiced its presence. That is, he anticipated the future hope of the unrestricted, uncontested sovereignty of God, by extending God’s rule in the present and inviting people to live within it. This was not the Kingdom of God in its fullest, eschatological sense, but it was a preliminary presence of the Kingdom within history. Preliminary, because it made itself felt in relation to evil and suffering and death, triumphing over them but not yet eliminating them from the world. But a real presence of the Kingdom, because in Jesus’ praxis the charateristics of God’s rule could be identified. In summary, the rule of God as Jesus’ praxis embodied it was the sovereignty of God’s gracious and fatherly love.” Richard Bauckham, The Bible in Politics, pg. 142

I’ve been keeping this quote by Bauckham in mind as I consider how my own life needs to be shaped by Christ. May you lead even me Father into a realization of this in my life, and may my life be an invitation for people around me to join in and live within the anticipation of your Son’s coming and the goodness of your rule…