I was at our mens retreat this past weekend and the speaker used this video as a segway into a discussion of what contentment is and why it eludes us so often. I’m not familiar with the author/director Erickson but i think she says some very perceptive things about the “culture of two year olds” our society is saturated in. We do run from one consumerist option to the next always trying to fill our lives with stuff when really what we’re longing for is culture making, not culture consumption (to borrow a way of putting the matter from Andy Crouch).

I’m as prone as the next person to live between things, between purchases, between possessions, rather than between recieving and extending the mercies of God to my neighbor. As my father-in-law says life requires “delayed gratification” as an ongoing discipline. The more we delay it the more complete it will be and the less centered on us it will be.

Love to hear your thoughts on the video…