When history gets visible... by (Erik).

I’m living between the CNN Omni Center in downtown Atlanta and my home this weekend while commuting to the CEP conference on “Making visible the invisible church: The call to discipleship.” As typically happens to me in a conference setting my mind tends to wander during the plenary talks. Not because the talks aren’t good (some are always better than others), but because I begin to ask myself if I were asked to give a lecture in this conference theme where would I go with the lecture? Discipleship is definitely something I’ve been drawn to reflection over a lot lately…

I’ve attached a document I created during the all day Friday sessions. I always do at least two things at once while taking notes on a laptop (old seminary habits die hard I guess). Here’s the document, its called “Recovering Discipleship“. Basically I make the point that too often people think and speak about discipleship in terms of theological education, a transformation of the mind, rather than a transformation of the entire life. So in this document I simply point out that discipleship is at the very least the ongoing experience of being changed by Christ’s message, his praxis, his pathos, and his mission.

These are rough thoughts drafted in the moment between note taking and coffee sipping all the while trying to look like I’m not drifting – Pastors drift at conference?!?!?!? Absolutely 🙂

Love to hear your thoughts, suggestions, criticisms…

(Photographic art by Erik, piece entitled “When history gets visible…“)