21178024The Study of Evangelism: Exploring a Missional Practice of the Church” edited by Chilcote and Warner is a veritable treasure trove of essays relevant to the missional church discussion being had today. This book is worth the price of admission because within it are pieces taken from other sources by some of the leading missiologists whose thoughts helped form the missional church movement like David J. Bosch, Leslie Newbigin, Darrell Guder, and more. One of the things that excited me as I looked through the table of contents was how the editors combined those known for mercy like Ron Sider and Orlando Costas with the fore fathers of the missional church discussion. This is not only a great text book, but its also a great primer for anyone who wants to understand the foundation of the missional church.

3716The next book worth mentioning is a forthcoming book from IVP called “Deep Church: A third way beyond emerging and traditional churches.” Belcher’s mention of seeking a third way in the subtitle of this book enthused me. 

And reading Scot McKnight’s blurb where he says Belcher has found a charitable way to seek a third way, along with Tim Keller’s supportive comments makes me think he has found one. I’m curious to see where he goes with this book. It could be of huge significance. I first learned of this author and his book at his Tweeter page here.

37433791The last book that recently caught my eye regarding ecclesiology was a book my college mentor Dr. Daniel Ebert suggested I read. The title of the book is “Exploring Ecclesiology: An Evangelical and Ecumenical introduction” by Brad Harper and Paul Louis Metzger. My mentor is usually spot on with his book suggestions so when I’m able I’m going to pick this one up. I’m definitely curious with where they go in their final chapter, “From building programs to building God’s missional kingdom.”